Process for the ORR periodic review of HS1 Ltd 2019 (PR19)

Consultation conclusions

Following our further consultation, Eurostar's request and subsequent alternative proposal were considered by the ORR board at its meeting on 18 April 2019. This letter to Eurostar sets out the board's decision and the reasons for that decision.

Conclusions letter

Office of Rail and Road periodic review of HS1 Ltd ("PR19") - Conclusions letter
Published 25 April 2019

Consultation update

Date published: 10 April 2019
Closing date: 15 April 2019

Based on our consideration of the consultation responses, our understanding of the positions of the parties, and in view of the provisions of the Concession Agreement, we decided to add a step in the process giving Eurostar the opportunity to make representations directly to us by mid-June, after the submission of the final Five Year Asset Management Statement (5YAMS) by HS1 in May, and then give HS1 the opportunity to consider and respond to those representations. All stakeholders would then have an opportunity to respond to our Draft Determination in a public consultation (and we currently envisage that around six weeks would give adequate time for stakeholders to respond to that consultation).

Subsequent to this decision being made, an alternative proposal was made to us by Eurostar and further representations were made to us by HS1 on its position. We have written to HS1 requesting further information to enable us to consider whether agreement is likely to be reached on a proposal to vary the process set out in the Concession Agreement.

We would like to give stakeholders an opportunity to consider a variation to the process which involves a one-month delay to the final 5YAMS being submitted to ORR.

Consultation responses

Process for the ORR periodic review of HS1 Ltd 2019 (PR19) – Responses to April 2019 further consultation
Published 25 April 2019

Consultation update

Office of Rail and Road periodic review of HS1 Ltd 2019 (PR19) pdf icon PDF, 420 Kb
Published 10 April 2019

February 2019 consultation

Date published: 28 February 2019
Closing date: 13 March 2019

We sought views on a request from a stakeholder to amend the HS1 Ltd periodic review 2019 (PR19) process.

We published our approach to PR19, the periodic review process document for the Periodic Review of HS1 2019, in January 2018. We concurrently notified HS1 Ltd of the initiation of the periodic review process set out in Schedule 10 of the Concession Agreement between the company and the Secretary of State for Transport. The document we published set out the key milestones of the proposed timetable for the periodic review.

The ORR and the Department for Transport (DfT) have received a letter from Eurostar International Ltd regarding both the periodic reviews of route and station funding for the period review 2020-25 (Control Period 3).

In its letter, Eurostar has requested a two month suspension of the process due to the current circumstances around Brexit, as explained further in its letter.

As detailed in the linked consultation letter, we sought stakeholder views before finalising how to proceed.

Consultation responses

Process for the ORR periodic review of HS1 Ltd 2019 (PR19) – Responses to February 2019 consultation
Published 25 April 2019

Consultation letter

Office of Rail and Road periodic review of HS1 Ltd 2019 (PR19) pdf icon PDF, 464 Kb
27 February 2019