Periodic review 2018 workshops, stakeholder events and working groups

Details of the workshops and stakeholder events and working groups we have organised in relation to the periodic review 2018 (PR18).

Rail Delivery Group PR18 working groups

Our attendance at Rail Delivery Group's (RDG) PR18 working groups is one of the ways in which we engage with stakeholders as we develop our policy approach for the periodic review.

The working groups comprise representatives from industry but include wider stakeholders including governments, as well as ORR. The working groups are:

These each link to one or more of the priority work areas that we proposed in our initial consultation on PR18. The terms of reference for these groups is available below.

Terms of reference for RDG PR18 working groups pdf icon PDF, 83 Kb

Schedule 4 & 8 re-calibration working group - December 2016

In our charges and incentives consultation, published in December 2016, we encouraged an industry-led approach to the re-calibration of Schedules 4 and 8 in PR18. To help start this process we are hosting a series of regular meetings to agree with industry the approach for recalibrating each aspect of the regimes.

Find out more about Schedule 4 & 8 re-calibration working group

Workshops on the performance and possessions regimes - November 2015 and August 2016

To discuss the regimes, we held a stakeholder event on Friday 27 November 2015:

We also hosted a workshop with a group of stakeholders on 5 August 2016. The purpose of the workshop was to discuss and hear stakeholder views on potential policy options.

Workshops on network charges - February 2016

To discuss the regimes, we held stakeholder events on Friday 5 February 2016 in Glasgow and on Friday 12 February 2016 in London.

Download the presentation slides from the workshops:

Workshop on system operation - October 2015

We hosted a workshop with a wide-range of industry stakeholders on Friday 2 October 2015. The purpose of this workshop was to discuss and hear stakeholders' views on system operation (including the concepts of system operation and the possible issues and opportunities) and to explore how Network Rail's dashboard could be usefully developed.

Workshop on structure of charges - July 2015

In our periodic review 2013 (PR13) final determination we committed to working with the industry to conduct a review of Network Rail's structure of charges, which will inform the next periodic review. The structure of charges is the framework within which track access charges are set by the ORR, which are payable by train operating companies.

In December 2014, we published a letter that stated our proposed approach pdf icon PDF, 129 Kb to this work and committed to a formal consultation in the final quarter of 2015. On this page you will find details of the stakeholder workshop we held on this.

We held a workshop on 14 July 2015 to update industry stakeholders on the process we are following to prepare for the formal consultation at the end of the year on the periodic review 2018 (PR18) structure of charges. Slides from this workshop are available:

Reviewing the structure of charges - a discussion with the industry pdf icon PDF, 2,556 Kb
14 July 2015