Periodic review 2018 publications

You can access our current publications, consultations, notices, reports and PR18 related communications in this section.

A list of all PR18 publications including key publications by stakeholders.

High-level output specifications and statements of funds available

This page sets out information relating to the high-level output specifications (HLOS) and statements of funds available (SoFA) for CP6.

Working papers

Working paper 1: Implementing route-level regulation
This working paper explores how route level regulation might work in practice.
Published: 7 Jun 2016

Working papers 2 and 3: System operation
These working papers set out our initial views on potential issues and opportunities in system operation and on the regulatory framework for Network Rail’s system operator function.
Published: 7 Jun 2016

Working paper 4: Outputs framework
This paper sets out our initial thinking in relation to the design and nature of what Network Rail will need to achieve in control period 6 (CP6).
Published: 8 Jul 2016

Working Paper 5: Options for the treatment of enhancements in PR18
This paper sets out options for treatment of enhancements in control period 6 (CP6).
Published: 5 Aug 2016

Consultations

Consultation on the overall framework for regulating Network Rail
Published 27 July 2017

Improving Network Rail’s efficiency – a consultation
Published 20 July 2017

Consultation on the financial framework for PR18
Published 26 January 2017

Consultation on changes to charges and contractual incentives
Published 15 December 2016

Consultation on draft guidance on Network Rail's strategic business plans
Published 23 November 2016

Consultation on the development of the regulatory settlement for the Network Rail system operator in CP6
Published 17 November 2016

Periodic review 2018 (2018) initial consultation and conclusions
Published 18 May 2016

Network charges: A consultation on how charges can improve efficiency
Published 10 December 2015

System operation: A consultation on making better use of the railway network
Published 13 August 2015

Consultation conclusions

Conclusions on consultation on charges and contractual incentives
Published 29 June 2017

Guidance on Network Rail’s strategic business plans and our conclusions to our consultation
Published 23 February 2017

Conclusions on the initial consultation on the 2018 periodic review
Published 17 November 2016

Our findings on system operation issues, opportunities and future challenges
Published 17 November 2016

Letters and updates relating to PR18

Letter to Network Rail on its cost allocation work
Published 3 August 2016

Letter: An update on ORR's review of charges
Published 7 April 2016

Consultants and reporters’ studies for PR18

Route performance measurement, report by SDG, published 27 July 2017. The objective of this report was to advise on and develop potential performance metrics to help ORR assess the contribution of Network Rail's routes to train performance, and to enable comparisons of performance both between routes and over time within a single route.

Availability output measure review, report by EE, published 27 July 2017. This report assesses the suitability of the network availability measures which Network Rail currently has in place and investigates potential alternatives’.

Infrastructure Management: Rail case studies, report by CEPA, published 16 June 2017. This report looked at case studies of different infrastructure models, in particular where certain responsibilities of Network Rail were taken over (or shared with) by other parties, or where there were proposals for this to happen. It was commissioned in 2014 to inform our early preparatory work for PR18.

Options for capacity measures and metrics, report by TRL, published 7 March 2017. The objective of this report was to find a set of measures that could provide both a means of tracking changes in the provision and use of the existing rail infrastructure capacity and a basis for incentivising Network Rail to increase capacity, whilst maintaining the right balance between capacity usage and performance.

PR18 legal notices

Extension notice (relating to our review initiation notice)
Published 20 July 2017

Covering letter
Published 20 July 2017

This notice extends the deadline set out in our notice of 27 March 2017 for the Secretary of State and the Scottish Ministers to submit the documents known as the HLOSs and SoFAs to us.

Review initiation notice
Published 27 March 2017

This notice sets out our proposal to undertake an access charges review under paragraph 1C of schedule 4A to the Railways Act 1993. This initiates the formal legal process for the 2018 periodic review.