Periodic review 2013 (PR13) legal notices

This webpage contains all the legal notices that we have issued relating to the periodic review 2013 (PR13). Legal notices

Notice for Network Rail's civils asset management plan 2016/17-2018/19

This notice is to initiate the civils adjustment mechanism, as set out in our PR13 determination. The notice is issued pursuant to condition 1.8 of the licence.

We were unable to conclude on control period 5 (CP5) civils expenditure in our 2013 periodic review because of the level of uncertainty in Network Rail's strategic business plan (SBP) submission. In our determination we set out how we would resolve this through the Civils Adjustment Mechanism. This process requires Network Rail to submit its civils asset management plan 2016/17-2018/19, so we can form a judgement on the volumes and unit costs of the work that will be funded.

Implementation of the 2013 periodic review: issue of review implementation notices

On 18 March 2014, we concluded the statutory implementation process for PR13 by serving and publishing review implementation notices pursuant to paragraph 7 of Schedule 4A to the Railways Act 1993. These confirmed that the changes we proposed to make to access agreements and Network Rail's network licence (as set out in the review notices that we issued on 20 December 2013) would be implemented on 1 April 2014. 

The review implementation notices directed the parties to access agreements within the scope of PR13 to amend their agreements so that the changes would come into effect on and from 1 April 2014.

The seven review implementation notices, and the accompanying covering letter that we issued with them, are available below. We have also included MS Word versions of the template supplemental agreements for the parties to access agreements to use when complying with our directions.

Review Implementation Notice Template supplemental agreement
Charter Operator Track Access Agreements pdf icon PDF, 171 Kb Charter Operator – template supplemental agreement doc icon DOC, 47 Kb
Franchised Passenger Track Access Agreements pdf icon PDF, 185 Kb Franchised Operator – template supplemental agreement doc icon DOC, 48 Kb
Freight Customer Track Access Agreements pdf icon PDF, 165 Kb Freight Customer – template supplemental agreement doc icon DOC, 47 Kb
Freight Operator Track Access Agreements pdf icon PDF, 174 Kb Freight Operator – template supplemental agreement doc icon DOC, 47 Kb
Open Access Passenger Operator Track Access Agreements pdf icon PDF, 174 Kb Open Access – template supplemental agreement doc icon DOC, 48 Kb
Station Long Term Charges pdf icon PDF, 335 Kb Stations – template supplemental agreement doc icon DOC, 50 Kb
Linked Licence Conditions pdf icon PDF, 151 Kb N/A

Implementation of the 2013 periodic review: issue of notices of agreement

On 11 February 2014, we served notices of agreement on Network Rail's train operator beneficiaries. These confirmed that Network Rail had not objected to the changes we proposed to make in the review notices we issued on 20 December 2013. The seven notices of agreement, and the accompanying covering letter that we issued with them, are available below:

Under paragraph 6 of Schedule 4A to the Railways Act 1993, beneficiaries have 28 days from the date of our notice(s) of agreement to give notice that they wish to terminate their access agreement(s). Further information on the implementation process is set out in chapter 22 pdf icon PDF, 797 Kb of our final determination.

PR13 publications - Office of Rail Regulation

Commencement of the implementation of the 2013 periodic review - review notices

On 20 December 2013, we began the formal implementation of PR13. We did this by serving review notices and publishing them on this website pursuant to paragraph 4 to Schedule 4A to the Railways Act 1993. The seven review notices, and the accompanying covering letter that we issued with them, are available below:

The Freight Operator Track Access Agreements and Franchised Passenger Track Access Agreements also incorporate new 'Traction Electricity Rules pdf icon PDF, 617 Kb'. We have therefore also published these today.

On 20 December 2013, Network Rail also published its price lists/schedules of charges that, pending an objection from Network Rail to our review notices by 7 February 2014, will apply in control period 5 (CP5). CP5 will run from 1 April 2014 to 31 March 2019. These are available on Network Rail's website.

Further information on the implementation process is set out in chapter 22 pdf icon PDF, 797 Kb of our final determination.

Delivery plan notice

Notice for Network Rail's 2014-2015 delivery plan pdf icon PDF, 683 Kb
31/10/2013 

Network Rail has a licence condition to prepare and publish a delivery plan. The main purpose of Network Rail's delivery plan is to set out what it will deliver over Control Period 5 (1 April 2014 to 31 March 2019). Our delivery plan notice sets out what Network Rail must include in its delivery plan for CP5. This includes:

  • the information that Network Rail must include in its delivery plan in relation to its planned activities to deliver the output framework, as specified in the final determination; and
  • the measures we require Network Rail to forecast (to indicate planned performance) and the level of disaggregation at which it should report progress against these forecasts.

Review initiation notice

Review initiation notice pdf icon PDF, 62 Kb
15/03/2012 

This notice sets out our proposal to undertake an access charges review under paragraph 1C of schedule 4A to the Railways Act 1993. This initiates the formal legal process for the 2013 periodic review.