High-level output specifications and statements of funds available

This page sets out information relating to the high-level output specifications (HLOS) and statements of funds available (SoFA) for CP6.

Overview

As part of a periodic review, the Scottish Ministers and Secretary of State are required to inform us what they each want railway activities to achieve during the next control period. We call this the ‘high-level output specification’ or HLOS. The Scottish Ministers’ HLOS relates solely to Scotland, whereas the Secretary of State’s HLOS relates to England & Wales but to Great Britain as a whole in respect of any safety requirements.

They are also required to each provide their view on the funds that are, or are likely to be, available to support the achievement of their HLOS (we call this the ‘statement of funds available’ or SoFA).

An explanation of the high-level process relating to the HLOSs and SoFAs is set out in our Live timetable for PR18 and description of key milestones.

Process

In March 2017, we formally gave notice of our intention to carry out a periodic review (legally this is called an 'access charge review'). At this point, we requested that the two governments provide their HLOSs and SoFAs by 20 July 2017. While both governments confirmed that they would be able to provide their HLOSs by this date, more time was needed for them to finalise their SoFAs. On 20 July 2017, we extended the deadline for submission of this information to 13 October 2017. Further material relating to the HLOS and SoFA process is set out below.

The Secretary of State’s HLOS and SoFA

On 20 July 2017, the Secretary of State issued his HLOS. On the same day, we issued a letter to the Department for Transport discussing the next steps in terms of the PR18 process and completing the Secretary of State's HLOS and SoFA submission. This letter is available below.

ORR's advice to the Department for Transport

In December 2016, DfT requested our advice to support the development of the Secretary of State’s HLOS and SoFA. This is available below.

The Scottish Ministers' HLOS and SoFA

On 20 July 2017, the Scottish Ministers issued their HLOS. On the same day, we issued a letter to Transport Scotland discussing the next steps in terms of the PR18 process and completing the Scottish Ministers' HLOS and SoFA submission. This letter is available below:

ORR’s advice to Transport Scotland

Following a request from Transport Scotland, in April 2017 we provided advice to support the development of the Scottish Ministers’ HLOS and SoFA. This is available below.

Letter to Network Rail on planning assumptions

On 25 July 2017, we wrote to Network Rail in regards to supplementary guidance on Network Rail's strategic business plans (SBPs) and planning assumptions for England and Wales for CP6. This letter is available below.