The board has three standing committees and their terms of reference are included in the board's rules of procedure pdf icon PDF, 165 Kb.

  • Audit and risk committee
  • Remuneration committee
  • Health and safety regulation committee
  • Highways committee

It also has a Periodic review committee and may appoint other committees to deal with areas of work before recommendations are sent to the board by the committee or the executive for a decision.

Audit and Risk Committee

ORR's audit and risk committee has a key role in corporate governance supporting the board and the accounting officer in reviewing the adequacy of ORR's risk, control and governance processes.

  • Non-executive directors: Bob Holland (Chair) and Michael Luger.
  • Executive Director: Joanna Whittington.
  • Independent member: Melvyn Neate.

Also in attendance at all meetings:  Director of Corporate Services, Associate Director of Finance, a member of the Board Secretariat team, representatives of the internal audit service provider and the National Audit Office.

Health and Safety Regulation Committee

ORR's safety regulation committee helps to develop, maintain, review and update ORR's health and safety regulatory strategy and the overall adequacy of arrangements to meet ORR's statutory duties. It provides guidance and advice on the need for major accident inquiries and reviews the safety inspection and policy formulation programmes.

  • Non-executive directors: Justin McCracken (Chair), Stephen Glaister and Bob Holland.
  • Executive directors: Joanna Whittington and Ian Prosser.
  • Other members: Graham Richards and Juliet Lazarus.

Highways Committee

ORR's highways committee will oversee the work of the highways monitoring team; it will advise the ORR board in developing an appropriate and effective monitoring framework and internal decision making framework for roads; and act as a forum for policy development with senior staff.

  • Non-executive directors: Stephen Glaister (Chair), Tracey Barlow.
  • Independent members: Terry Hill, Garrett Emmerson.
  • Executive director: Joanna Whittington.
  • Other members: Peter Antolik, Graham Richards.

Remuneration Committee

ORR's remuneration committee reviews and recommends to the board pay and benefits policy for ORR's senior civil servant staff. It then reviews and makes recommendations on the pay and bonuses for the individual senior civil servants, taking account of their contribution to ORR's overall performance.

  • Non-executive directors: Michael Luger (Chair),Tracey Barlow and Justin McCracken.
  • Executive director: Joanna Whittington.

Periodic Review Committee

ORR's periodic review committee oversaw PR13 and has now been wound up.